Homesteading Tweezers – Part 2

I told you that there would be more uses for my tweezers and sure enough, it happened!

A couple of weeks ago, my friend was over visiting the farm.  She was up by the goat yard and noticed a small feathery lump on the ground making a lot of noise!  She looked to see and it was a baby bird.  She picked it up and came to me.

I knew exactly where the nest was because I had been watching the baby birds as they grew.  I knew they were getting to full size and this little one must have flunked flight school this particular day.  I went to get the ladder to put him back in the nest but his determination to keep up with the rest of his siblings kept dumping him back onto the ground again.

This little Fox Sparrow was determined to fly and wouldn't stay in his nest!

This little Fox Sparrow was determined to fly and wouldn't stay in his nest!

If I left him there, either the dogs or the cats would find him first and they would think nothing of gobbling up this tasty treat – feathers and all!  Megan was with us and was all excited about trying to keep him alive.  Leigh gave him the name “Spike” and Megan decided on the food of choice.  After all, she’d done all that research for the baby Swallows who had been only a couple of hours old.  This bird was much bigger and could eat much “bigger” food!

He was named Bob - we were guessing on gender.

He was named Spike - we were guessing on gender.

We had some great worms right near where we were standing – big, fat, slimy ones.  Just the kind birds love!  Leigh’s enthusiasm did not match mine at all.  I chided her, “This is not about you and what you like, it’s all about the baby bird you found!”

She looked at me sheepishly, “Well, then, can I use your tweezers?”

I was dumbfounded!  How dare she ask me to use my personal, eyebrow-plucking tweezers!  She knew that story about Colonel and the tick removals and yet she still had the audacity to ask to use them!  Leigh had that impish grin that quite clearly was saying, “This is not about you and what you like, it’s all about the baby bird that I found!”

I relented and had Megan go and retrieve the tweezers while I hunted for worms.  It’s one thing to get worm slime all over your fingers, but for pete’s sake, I certainly wouldn’t purposely put that slime on anything I used so close to my face!!  Ugh!

I found some good sized worms and told Leigh, “Here, I’ll hold Spike and you break them apart so they’re baby bite sized!”  She wouldn’t even take the worm from my hand!!  A farm girl she was not 🙂   Though not my favorite activity, I did pull apart that worm into tiny pieces.  I handed one to Leigh and she dropped it, again and again.  She just couldn’t get past the goo!

So, Megan fed the baby bird…

This is Megan's hand holding the worm...

This is Megan's hand holding the worm...

Leigh took the tweezers, my tweezers, and picked up the next piece of worm.  Man!  Worm guts all over my tweezers!  But Spike didn’t care how dinner was served, he opened up that little beak and down it went!

After Spike’s little belly was full, we had to find a place to keep him where he could be safe from other critters.  I had some old bird cages on the front porch for decoration but they were still in good use.  Leigh assured Spike everything would be okay…

"Don't mind those 5 cats and 4 dogs- you'll be safe in this antique, old, flimsy bird cage...I'm not sure Bob was buying it!

"Don't mind those 5 cats and 4 dogs- you'll be safe in this antique, old, flimsy bird cage...I'm not sure Spike was buying it!

Now, baby birds have to be fed about every 20 minutes between sunrise and sunset.  Leigh fed the baby Sparrow one more time.  Oh, not only did she use my tweezers, she also used my kitchen knife and cutting board!!!  She wasn’t about to pull apart that worm.  I’m telling you, the things I put up with for the sake of these little wild creatures!

Leigh's using MY tweezers to feed Spike so she wouldn't get worm slime on her hands!

Leigh's using MY tweezers to feed Spike so she wouldn't get worm slime on her hands!

Bob's spacious accommodations for the evening.

Spike's spacious accommodations for the evening.

Complete with a Lamb's Ear lined plastic bowl for his "nest"

Complete with a Lamb's Ear lined plastic bowl for his "nest"

One Response to “Homesteading Tweezers – Part 2”

  1. Katie Hendricks Says:

    I think it’s time to buy a fresh set of face tweezers as yours have definitely become farm tweezers! 😉

Leave a Reply

