Homesteading Tweezers – Part 3

Yesterday I was unloading the dishwasher – and what do you think I found in the silverware tray?!  Why, my tweezers, of course!

I casually asked those children present if indeed these were my tweezers.

“Yeah, Mom.”  Interpretation –  “Why are you evening wasting your breath asking, of course they’re yours!”

So I probed a bit further.  I know, I know, I’m a fool for wanting to know WHY they were in the dishwasher.

I was told that Alexandra had put them in the silverware basket.  I went looking for her.

My mind was having it’s own conversation with itself.

“What the heck does she want to hunt down this child for?  You know she’s not going to like the answer when she asks why.  If tweezers have to be put in the dishwasher, you know those tweezers have been in a bad place!”

“Oh, Alexandra?  Where are you, honey?”

“Here, Mom.”

“Babe, did you put my tweezers in the dishwasher?”

“Yep”

“What were you doing with them?”

“Well, Mom.  You remember I was down playing at the creek yesterday?  And I found those really cool snails?”

“Yes.  So what does that have to do with my tweezers?”

“Oh.  I wanted to get those little snails out of the shell so I got your tweezers…”

Nope, this use has NEVER crossed my mind!!  Other possibilities, yes, but not extracting snails from their shells.

And the worst part is – Alexandra saved those snailess snail shells and when her sister was cleaning the kitchen, she threw them away!!  A priceless treasure, a tweezer-sacrifice and we have nothing to show for it – not even a picture 🙂

Leave a Reply

