A Walk Down Memory “Lane”

When Megan and I were in NH, I had the opportunity to show her my life before I was married.  We took a lot of pictures and I thought I’d share the same story with all of you.

My family moved to NH from Connecticut in the summer of 1978, the summer before I entered 11th grade.  I was away all summer as a camp counselor up in the mountains of NH while the transition happened.

Megan and I headed out for the “Nostalgia Tour” the morning we were to leave NH.  I turned left onto Lane Road.

IMG_2350

When we lived here, we would often walk down to the “gate” and watch the beauty of the seasons.

IMG_2343

IMG_2345

On the way back to our home, we would pass our neighbors.  We lived in the Historical District and each home has a “story.”

IMG_2357

This was a girl’s school …

IMG_2358

The other homes had stories too but they weren’t as obvious as this one.

IMG_2356

IMG_2354

IMG_2353

This house belonged to a lawyer and the family lived across the street from us.  She and my mom were good friends…

IMG_2352

This house was across the street and she was a teacher in the high school.  I’m told she still lives there but I didn’t want to knock on the door.

IMG_2348

This home was next to ours and belonged to an elderly lady.  There’s a “For Sale” sign now.

And this is the home I lived in – it was built in 1806.

IMG_2362

It’s a long house.  As the needs arose, different owners would add on to the back and the barn is off the back corner, making it look like a big “L”.

IMG_2364

My dad put so much heart and sweat into fixing up our beautiful home.  I loved living here, the home had so much character.  The winter’s were cold though.  Until Dad put in the footings around the house, snow would come up under the edges.  The back part of the house, where my sister and I slept, was heated with a wood stove.  She and I would stay in bed until we heard the grating of the cover as Mom put wood in to start a fire.  There were registers in the floor to allow the heat to rise.  Found out later that the boys would sneak upstairs and listen and watch through those registers when my sister or I would be with our dates downstairs!

This is where I had my first real job.  I worked in the General Store as a cashier.  We could walk here from our home on Lane Road.

IMG_2365

And my brothers and sister and I would play basketball at the Boys’ and Girls’ Club gym right next door.  The building looked a little better 30 years ago.

IMG_2383

And this is the town library.  I think I only went inside one time because there was a bigger one with a lot more books in the next town.

IMG_2381

IMG_2382

And, of course, this would not be a New England town without a church.

The church is right across the street from the General Store and next to the library.

IMG_2366

I’d always seen this sign but it wasn’t until I came back that I realized how old this church really is!

IMG_2367

IMG_2374

And I never realized how big it is till my daughter stood next to it….

IMG_2376

IMG_2386

I passed this statue all the time…

IMG_2368

But I never took the time to read the inscription.

IMG_2370

And I never read this one either…

IMG_2371

This is the cemetery behind the church.  We used to play hide and seek here on scary nights.  Seems a bit disrespectful to me now.

IMG_2389

And so in penance for those nights, we’ll just walk quietly through this New England cemetery and wonder about all the stories that went to these graves…

IMG_2390

IMG_2400

IMG_2402

IMG_2403

IMG_2406

IMG_2407

IMG_2414

IMG_2410

IMG_2408

I love how Mother Nature adds her own beauty…

IMG_2415

IMG_2412

When I saw this one, I wondered if the Lane Road that I had lived on was named after this person.

And as I stood there in this cemetery with my 12 year old daughter, 30 years later, I was reminded how quickly time passes and that we are the maker of our memories.

It was very poignant that we saw this sign on our way out of the cemetery.

IMG_2419

This is the name of the road we live on in Georgia – past meets present.

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”         Mark Twain

IMG_2388



2 Responses to “A Walk Down Memory “Lane””

  1. Janice D. Green Says:

    I love your trip down memory lane. I hope you will write more about these places you mentioned. Like you said above, “we’ll just walk quietly through this New England cemetery and wonder about all the stories that went to these graves…,” stories that don’t get passed on will end up in the cemetary.

    I invite you to take a peek at my brand new (as in about 24 hours ago) blog, A Memory Ago. http://www.amemoryago.wordpress.com. Maybe we could share stories.

  2. Margie Says:

    Beautiful, Cyndi! I really miss New Hampshire! Sigh…

Leave a Reply

