Picking Up Chicks

My cell phone rang at 6:30 this morning – it was the Post Office calling to let me know my chicks had arrived.  I headed out into the frigid morning, cup of coffee in hand, and hopped into my “chick chariot.”

It was cold this morning, snow flurries reported not far from us, so I cranked the heat hoping it would be warm enough inside for the chicks.

We live about 3 miles from the Statham post office – a fairly quick trip.

The post office isn’t officially open at this time of the morning, unless of course, you’re picking up livestock.  Then you must go to the special window and ring the bell.

I could hear my baby birds chirping away behind this door.

Another gentleman came in behind me and commented on the unusual package – the one that was peeping.  I said, “Yeah, but at least I didn’t order bees!”

Whenever we bring home new animals, our dogs are the first to be introduced.  Somehow they just know they are supposed to take care of them and not harm them.

All 26 survived!!  A first for me.  Usually there is at least one that doesn’t make it.  I ordered all hens this time – I didn’t feel like dealing with roosters.

This little one is the smallest of the bunch but very feisty…

It’s a little too cold today to put them out in our brood box so I put them all in a plastic container with my son’s bed lamp attached to the side.

Before we put them in the box, we dipped their beaks in some water.

To think that at two days old, they’ve flown on a plane and traveled by truck hundreds of miles.  But now they’re all snug in their new home in GA… and the sound of incessant peeping fills our home once again!

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Picking Up Chicks”

  1. Marne Says:

    This makes me so excited to get our baby chicks. We waffled back and forth over whether or not to order them this year, but we finally decided to go for it. We got six female Rhode Island Reds.

    (I probably should have taken your chicken class first, but we seem to be short on free time.)

    It should be an adventure. Alex could have stayed at the Homeport and watched the chicks for hours last year, when they were there. So I think she’ll love getting to take care of them.

    Danny’s pouring over plans trying to decide how to build a chicken house.

    I can’t wait! Thanks for sharing the excitement.

  2. Sarah Wise Says:

    They are so cute! I had no idea you could mail chicks 🙂

  3. Lydia Rose Says:

    What do you feed them when they are so little, other than water?

  4. lazybfarm Says:

    They have chick feed specifically for the little ones. Amazingly, they drink and eat without any teaching!

  5. roostershamblin Says:

    http://roostershamblin.wordpress.com/ would you please spend a few minutes reading my blog about all things chicken. I have been raising more than 50 breeds of chickens 40 years.

Leave a Reply

