What Makes a Better Homesteader?

As I write this blog, I’m looking out my window at a beautiful late afternoon spring day.  No, I was not out playing in the dirt today.  I spent the majority of the day studying… I have an exam tomorrow morning.

I began to think about these last several months and all that’s been happening and I realized an important truth about homesteading and farming – you NEVER stop learning.

I love to learn.

I love to try new skills.

I love to ask questions.

I love to explore.

As I looked back over the classes, conferences, and workshops I’ve been involved with recently, I realize that it’s this aspect that makes me a better farmer.

I don’t know all the answers.  I don’t have all the skills.  I don’t have all the new ideas…

but someone does and I need to find them and listen.

Whether it’s in a book.

Or at another’s farm.

Or in a class.

Or a workshop.

And you know how I know whether or not I understand the material?

I teach it.

I love to share my passion for learning and homesteading.  And when I share that passion, it usually leads to more questions and more searching.

So I guess if I was going to give any advice to someone interested in homesteading, it would be this…

Learning is not attained by chance, it must be sought for with ardor and attended to with diligence. Abigail Adams

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “What Makes a Better Homesteader?”

  1. tarena Says:

    Hey! You have Nourishing Traditions! I also want to read Wild Fermentation! I can’t wait to get the one you suggested! So far I only bought Seed to Seed and How to Grow More Vegetables…both WONDERFUL books, but I’m thinking they would be basic knowledge for you! =)
    I love to learn! I hope when my kids are grown that I will be having tests to take too! =) What a blessing learning is!!

Leave a Reply

