Lady Banks Rose

I love perennials – the plants that you put in the ground once and they come back year after year.  I’m a “no muss, no fuss” kind of gardener and perennials suit me well.  Okay, I’ll admit I will buy a couple packs of pansies and petunias now and again for the constant color, but by and large, perennials are still my favorite.

This year the show has just begun and once again, I’m awed by the beauty of some of these flowers.

This a Clematis and this is the first year it’s bloomed.  I do love Clematis but they must be babied the first year or two to get them established.  Once they’re established, however, they are gorgeous!

This another variety of Clematis – they’re a climber.  I believe this one is the Nellie Moser variety and these bloom first in the season.

Clematis like a hot head and cool feet – meaning sun on most of the plant but a cool, moist, shady bottom of the plant.  It’s good to place this plant behind another plant.

Another favorite of mine are the Columbines – I just love the shape of the flowers and petals.

I have different colors – this mauve is so beautiful and dainty.

Columbines love the shade to partial shade and they are an early bloomer.

This year I added to my collection of colors with a purple one and a native Columbine which is orange and yellow.  The native is supposed to be a prolific seeder – I’m hoping so, so I can share with friends.

This is a climbing rose – Blaze, I believe.  When I first planted this rose, it was in an area with a lot more sun but now it’s too shady.  I’ll move it in the fall to a sunnier spot.

And of course, the Dianthus are a faithful friend, reappearing year after year in greater abundance.

The greatest show of all in the spring comes from my Lady Banks Rose.  It’s huge and has gotten so in a short amount of time.  This year I pruned it heavily to make it go where I wanted it to go.  To help with perspective, the top of this “bush” is about 9-10′ tall.

When I realized how “wild” this rose is, I decided to create an arbor in the vegetable garden and to train the Lady Banks to grow over it.

I’m so excited because what I’d envisioned is actually starting to happen.  I love to create “nooks” and rooms in my gardens.  I thought this one in the garden would be a great spot to rest when it gets hot from working.

Wouldn’t this be an inviting spot to sit and rest with a cold glass of tea in your hand?

And when you look up, this is what you see 🙂

The blooms on the Lady Banks are so dainty…and this rose is thornless!

There are thousands of blooms on this plant.  As far as I know, this plant only comes in yellow and there’s a white one.  Zone hardiness: 7-9

Though it’s a short bloom – about 2 -3 weeks in the spring, the show it gives is spectacular!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

