We’re Getting There!

Yesterday was a good day in the vegetable garden.  As Dave and I walked through the garden last night, he commented on how nice it looked.

“Thanks.  This has been a tough year trying to get the garden in on time.  Family life’s been very full! It’s taken me forever to get this garden back into shape.”

“I know.  But I think we’ve learned that at the end of the season we need to till under the entire garden and not wait until spring.”

Thank goodness for Rochelle, my intern for the farm.  She’s been a huge help in getting me back on track.  For a couple of weeks, all we did was weed.  She came to learn about vegetable gardening – she’s earned an A in vegetable garden weeding!

Yesterday, we finally were able to start putting in plants, transplanting, and sowing seeds.

Gardening, at times, creates a dilemma.  Family happenings don’t always allow for the kind of time needed to get my garden going.  And Mother Nature’s clock stops for no one!

So you do the best you can…

When you can…

And give yourself some grace …  ( I’m not very good at this but I’m working on it.)

Those planting schedule charts aren’t 100% correct – I’m constantly throwing in plants and pushing the margin for their growing season – it’s part of the learning and seeing what works and what doesn’t work.

I also watch for “volunteer” plants, the plants that come back because I let previous year’s veggies go to seed.  I found a whole bunch of Roma tomato seedlings yesterday – so I moved them to their new spot.

I’m horrible at starting seeds in the house.  They never seem to make it to the outdoors.  So I just allow Mother Nature to do it for me – that way I’m also positive when they should be planted!

Lauren helped me in the garden yesterday – barefoot and no gloves – that’s how she likes to garden.  I loved my time with her…

The smell of spring dirt, cool breezes, the occasional waft of honeysuckle…

And uninterrupted time for talking and sharing.

The garden is truly one of my favorite places to spend time with my children.

It’s funny.  When my vegetable garden is in order, there is a sense of order to the rest of my homestead.  I don’t feel so overwhelmed and burdened.

Since it’s overcast and cool this morning, I’m headed back to the garden to move more plants – perfect weather for that task.

Thanks to all my Gardening friends for your patience these last couple of weeks.  Now we move forward to the season of warm weather crops!

Tags: , , ,

9 Responses to “We’re Getting There!”

  1. tarena Says:

    ok…this is probably a total “newbie gardener” question…why do you have those lean-tos? Why do they not go straight up? Easier to stay standing? I noticed you do have some metal ones standing straight up that are not wood…do you like metal for certain plants? And why do you have the hay around the plants?

  2. Jimmy Cracked-Corn Says:

    The garden looks GREAT! I must say though, I really like the first picture as well!

  3. lazybfarm Says:

    Tarena,
    The south is very humid and mildew is a constant problem. Going vertical with the plants helps to alleviate that problem. I use the lean-tos because with some of our summer storms, I need to have something very sturdy. With a lean-to, I’m able to plant on either side. The lean-tos are used for climbing or vining veggies like watermelon and cantaloupe. The metal fencing is used for the tomatoes. It’s very strong and I tie the tomatoes to it.
    Great questions – ask away!

  4. Brian Says:

    Love your blog and your homesteading ideas…working on some ideas on a much smaller scale. (trying to convince my wife of chickens and goats to start). I love to garden but not much space so I have some ideas for space saving trellises. Do you have any plans for the ones you built and would you mind sharing?

    BTW…found you through crown.org website.

    • lazybfarm Says:

      Trellises are great!! I love “going up.” My favorite ones that I have are made out of 2×4’s into a tent, upside down V and then the outside is covered with hog paneling. These are very strong and I grow pumpkins, watermelons, and other melons on them. You can see this trellis in the 4th pic on this blog.
      Let me know if you have any other questions. Good luck 🙂

  5. IVY Says:

    What are the size of your raised beds? I am wanting to make some and trying to decide the size should make them.

    • lazybfarm Says:

      My beds are a little bigger than I would suggest. Mine are 8′ x 8′. It’s tough getting to the middle without stepping in the dirt. I wouldn’t go any wider than 4′ so you can reach the middle from either side. The bed can be as long as you want.

  6. Susan Says:

    I heard on the radio that you have information on your site for how to plant a 4X4 garden to feed your family for the summer. where do i find that information?
    thank you

Leave a Reply

