Garden Walk – May 19, 2011

My cabbages are coming along nicely so far.  The weather’s been perfect but it’s supposed to hit the 90’s by the weekend.  Since cabbages are a cool weather crop, we’ll see how they hold up.  I was really  hoping to make sauerkraut this year!

Pulled quite a few cabbage worms off of them this morning.  Wasps will also eat the worms but I thought I’d lend a hand!

So far, I like the cucumbers on the bed frame…

It does require a bit more time for tying up the plants.  I’ve gotten 3 cukes out of here so far.

Remember these eggs from the last post?  Well, they finally hatched…

Thank goodness for the micro setting on my camera.  I honestly couldn’t see them.

After seeing these pics, I do believe these are Ladybug larva and they consume more aphids than an adult Ladybug.  This particular tomato plant had quite a few aphids on the leaves.

These eggs still have not hatched but they went from being clear to this greyish-brown color.  I’ll keep checking…

It’s the end of the season for this lettuce.

I pinched out the middle so they wouldn’t bolt and it’s helped them last longer.  Don’t they look like little trees?

I have to say, this is my first year for growing Kale and I love it – both the look and the taste.  It will definitely become a regular in the garden from now on.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Garden Walk – May 19, 2011”

  1. tarena Says:

    Love it!!! I can’t believe the difference for a garden from where you live to where we live! I haven’t even put my starts in the ground! Last year I got them in mid june!!! I am hoping to make some more saurkraut here soon too! I should have planted some of my own cabbage!
    WE HEART KALE!!! I just used it again tonight! You’ll have to try making Kale chips if you haven’t already…they come out paper thin….the kids love them!
    Love the bed frame idea-brilliant.
    Also, my mom was saying that I should tell you that my family got chickens! You’ll have to check out the blog to see them…they are really fun!

  2. jennyg82 Says:

    It’s so wonderful to see all your beautiful garden pictures! Up here in Vermont it’s been so wet and cold we don’t have anything in the ground yet. The horizontal trellis idea is fabulous. It would be great for the summer squash that I can never see under all those huge leaves. I’m loving your site, so much great advice and information, thank you for writing!

Leave a Reply

