Candid Corner: But I just don’t wanna…

The prep work is finished, the weather is good, the deadline is closing in, and if I procrastinate any longer – the window of opportunity will be shut.

I know all this…

but I just don’t wanna do the rest of the work today.

Ever have days like this?

I find with farming, I run into these kind of days more often than not.  So much that happens on the farm is season and time sensitive.

Take for instance my dairy goats.  The optimum time for breeding is Sept – Jan.  Five month gestation.  That means, if I want babies to hit the ground in February, I need to have my girls bred in October.  I’m working on the prep work right now because if I miss this window, I won’t have babies in February which means I won’t have does in milk, which means I can’t make cheese, which means I won’t have extra milk to raise a calf, which means in 18 months I won’t have meat for my family.

See what I mean?

My “but I don’t wanna” has far reaching repercussions that go beyond my emotional state at this moment.

Today I need to split my hives.  I’m trying a new theory.  If I don’t split today, my window of opportunity will slam shut and I won’t have bees to sell in the spring.  Nor will I be able to test out my theory until next year – a whole year!

That’s the other nugget of truth I’ve found recently.  Some of the “new” ideas I come up with really aren’t that new.  It’s just sometimes I’m willing to do the work that others didn’t want to do to make the idea a reality.  There’s a lot of really terrific ideas floating around out there – I hear friends talking about them all the time.

The time and work it takes to make an idea a reality – now that’s where the difference is.

In these economic times, some of those ideas could really come in handy – another source of income.  I could use that.

Ahhh – but it requires that I quit talking about it and do it!

…Even when I just don’t wanna.

So thank you for sitting with me while I convinced myself to get off my bum and get outside and do the work.

I know I’ll be glad when the work is complete and that sense of satisfaction supersedes the emotional “dragging of the feet” right now.

And in the spring, when I have nucs to sell, I’ll really be grateful I got the work done today 🙂

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “Candid Corner: But I just don’t wanna…”

  1. micandme Says:

    Ohhh, I know that feeling! Often, it’s just getting started that is the biggest hurdle. Once I get moving in the direction of the thing I “don’t wanna” do, momentum keeps it going and I realize it wasn’t THAT bad. Of course, the jobs you mentioned might not be quite like that. 😉

  2. Mary Marlowe Says:

    Yep, sometimes I just have to make a list of WHY I wanted to do the chore in the first place… thinking of the prize will be enough to inspire me. If that doesn’t work, though, I rethink the chore altogether. Is it really what I want to be doing, or am I just focusing on how soft the bed feels, LOL!

    • lazybfarm Says:

      Ha! My bed is often my down falling 🙂 My girlfriend and I just made a new rule the other day. (She and I walk 2 miles every day and talk on the phone) Rule: you can’t decide NOT to walk the morning of unless it’s pouring down rain or you’ve been throwing up during the night! If you’re not going to walk – decision must be made 12 hours ahead of time. Certainly helps the morning decision to get out of bed!

      • Mike Schaaphok Says:

        Your photos are GREAT? What camera do you use – especially for the Macros of the Varoa!
        Thanks!

      • lazybfarm Says:

        Hey Mike-
        Thanks for the compliment. I use a Fuji F500EXR. it’s a great little camera and the video on it is really nice.

  3. Jan Says:

    Cindy, We struggle with the breeding thing and we have the boys right here! I don’t have to make arrangements, but I do have to decide who is bred to whom, get the ewes vaccinated and decide, where each breeding group is going to be located for the duration. We did manage 1st of Aug so we can have January lambs. But I was still working on assignments the night before we set up the groups! Maybe I’ll be ready for a nuc come spring;)

  4. Tarena Says:

    It is so good to hear that you too even have those days of not wanting to get up and do the work! =)
    I love that it seem like the Lord rewards me in that when I do the hard work I am motivated to do more…so much ends up getting done!
    Love hearing about all your adventures! =)

Leave a Reply

